Marc Jolicoeur (aka Jolly Thoughts)
Marc Jolicoeur (aka "Jolly Thoughts")
Holy Saturday Habits of/to Embrace
0:00
-47:02

Holy Saturday Habits of/to Embrace

Episode 63, which was a Palm Sunday sermon mused upon on Good Friday and released on Holy Saturday in patient anticipation of Easter Sunday.
Transcript

No transcript...

This episode of the pod is me riffing briefly on the waiting that Holy Saturday interposes into the celebration of Easter, followed by a sermon that was part of Moncton Wesleyan’s “Domino Effect” series.

I’m releasing this episode just a few hours after what amounted to a historic Good Friday service in the city of Moncton. Officially 5 churches (and several others “unofficially”) joined together in remembrance, and it was immensely powerful. Right after the service, I got into a brief conversation with someone I know who’d been participating in Lent this year a little more intentionally than has been their typical practice. He said to me, “It was… less impactful than I thought it was going to be.” Honestly, to me, this was beautiful to hear. I feel we need to be honest with ourselves & with others, honest with our expectations, honest with our gains & with our losses. I acknowledged to this individual that this is often my experience, as well. The kinds of practices I advocate for in this podcast (and that I typically practice, to greater or lesser degrees) occasionally lead me to moments of significant impact. More often than not, though, they seem to lead me nowhere at all.

Sometimes (often, even), Holy Saturday seems to lead us nowhere at all… but we can’t see what’s happening underground.

(In my message I heavily reference Justin Earley’s book The Common Rule.)

0 Comments
Marc Jolicoeur (aka Jolly Thoughts)
Marc Jolicoeur (aka "Jolly Thoughts")
This feed is a grab bag of thoughts, reflections, and tomfoolery. The Bible will be talked about, other books will be talked about, concepts will be wrestled with, Jesus will be made much of.